

29 October 2020

Mr Sam Hill

By email to: fyi-request-14001-3fd20d36@requests.fyi.org.nz

Mr Sam Hill

OFFICIAL INFORMATION ACT REQUEST 2020/41 – CITIZENSHIP STATUS OF CANDIDATES AT THE 2020 GENERAL ELECTION

On 19 October 2020 you requested the following information under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act) from the Department of Internal Affairs:

Please advise of the citizenship status (including dual citizenship) of the following candidates who have been preliminarily elected to the 53rd Parliament of New Zealand.

New Zealand Labour Party

Jacinda Ardern

Kelvin Davis

Grant Robertson

Phil Twyford

Megan Woods

Chris Hipkins

Andrew Little

Carmel Sepuloni

David Parker

Nanaia Mahuta

Trevor Mallard

Stuart Nash

Jenny Salesa

Damien O'Connor

Kris Faafoi

David Clark

Ayesha Verrall

Peeni Henare

Willie Jackson

William Sio

Poto Williams

Vanushi Walters

Michael Wood

Adrian Rurawhe

Kiri Allan

Kieran McAnulty

Louisa Wall

Meka Whaitiri

Rino Tirikatene

Camilla Belich

Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Jan Tinetti

Deborah Russell

Marja Lubeck

Angie Warren-Clark

Willow-Jean Prime

Tamati Coffey

Naisi Chen

riaisi erici

Jo Luxton

Jamie Strange

Liz Craig

Ibrahim Omer

Duncan Webb

Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki

Ginny Andersen

Rachel Brooking

Paul Eagle

Helen White

Barbara Edmonds

Angela Roberts

Shanan Halbert

Neru Leavasa

Tracey McLellan

Steph Lewis

Rachel Boyack

Arena Williams

Ingrid Leary

Sarah Pallett

Gaurav Sharma

Terisa Ngobi

Glen Bennett

Greg O'Connor

Tangi Utikere

Anna Lorck

New Zealand National Party

Judith Collins

Gerry Brownlee

Paul Goldsmith Simon Bridges

Shane Reti

Todd McClay

Chris Bishop

Todd Muller

Louise Upston

Scott Simpson

David Bennett

Michael Woodhouse

Nicola Willis

Jacqui Dean

Mark Mitchell

Melissa Lee

Andrew Bayly

Nick Smith

Maureen Pugh

Barbara Kuriger

Matthew Doocey

Stuart Smith

Denise Lee

Simon O'Connor

Simeon Brown

Ian McKelvie

Erica Stanford

Matt King

Chris Penk

Tim van de Molen

Nicola Grigg

Christopher Luxon

Joseph Mooney

Penny Simmonds

Simon Watts

ACT New Zealand

David Seymour

Brooke van Velden

Nicole McKee

Chris Baillie

Simon Court

James McDowall

Karen Chhour

Mark Cameron

Toni Severin

Damien Smith

Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand

Marama Davidson

James Shaw

Chloe Swarbrick

Julie Anne Genter

Jan Logie

Eugenie Sage

Golriz Ghahraman

Teanau Tuiono Elizabeth Kerekere Ricardo Menéndez March

Māori Party

Rawiri Waititi

The Department of Internal Affairs transferred your request to the Electoral Commission on 19 October 2020 in accordance with section 14(b)(ii) of the Act on the basis that confirming the eligibility of elected officials is believed to be more closely related to the functions of the Electoral Commission.

During the candidate nomination process for the 2020 General Election, all candidates confirmed their eligibility to be nominated by completing and signing a consent to candidate nomination form in which they confirmed that they are a New Zealand citizen. All party secretaries bulk nominating their candidates and submitting a party list also completed and signed a declaration confirming that all of the candidates included in their bulk nomination of candidates and their party list are qualified to be a candidate and to be elected a member of Parliament.

On their consent to nomination form, every electorate and list candidate is required to indicate their country of birth. All candidates born overseas were required to provide evidence of New Zealand citizenship with their nomination in the form of a copy of their New Zealand passport or a copy of their certificate of citizenship. All candidates did so prior to the close of nominations.

The Electoral Commission does not hold information on whether any of the above candidates have dual citizenship.

You have the right under section 28(3) of the Official Information Act to make a complaint to the Ombudsman if you are not satisfied with the response to your request.

Yours sincerely

Kristina Temel Electoral Commission