

# **MINUTES**

Held on Wednesday 1 September 2021 Location: Zoom Zoom: 876 5068 1844

## PUBLIC EXCLUDED

Due to Covid 19 alert level (level 3) only the Chair and limited staff attended in person (in person marked with \* and all others on zoom)

### PRESENT

David Smol	Chair, Hutt Valley and Capital & Coast DHBs		
Dr Kathryn Adams	Board Member	Ria Earp	Board Member
Brendan Boyle	Board Member	Ken Laban	Board Member
Hamiora Bowkett	Board Member	Prue Lamason	Board Member
Dr Tristram Ingham	Board Member	Naomi Shaw	Board Member
Sue Kedgley	Board Member	Dr Richard Stein	Board Member
Roger Blakeley	Board Member	John Ryall	Board Member
Dr Chris Kalderimis	Board Member	Josh Briggs	Board Member
Vanessa Simpson	Board Member	Wayne Guppy	Deputy Chair

# **APOLOGIES**

# IN ATTENDANCE

Vanessa Simpsor	n Board Member	Wayne Guppy	Deputy Chair
APOLOGIES	· (),2,		
'Ana Coffey			
Stacey Shortall			
IN ATTENDANCE			
Hutt Valley and Car	oital & Coast DHB		
Fionnagh Dougan	Chief Executive		
Rosalie Percival	Chief Financial Officer		
Arawhetu Gray	Director Maori Health		
Karla Bergquist 🔪	Executive Director Mental Health	, Addictions and Intel	lectual Disability Services
Paul Oxnam	Executive Clinical Director Menta	al Health, Addictions a	and Intellectual Disability
20	Services		
Joy Farley	Director Provider Services		
John Tait	Chief Medical Officer		
Sarah Jackson	Director of Clinical Excellence		
Rachel Gully	Director People and Culture		
Sue Gordon	Director Transformation		
Helen Mexted	Director of Communication and E	Ingagement	
Sally Dossor	Director, Office of the Chief Exec	utive and Board Secre	etary
Meila Wilkins	Board Liaison Officer		

## **Procedural note:**

*The public excluded part of the meeting commenced at 1pm.* 

#### 0.1 Discussion - Te Awakairangi Birthing Centre

Board member Richard Stein (and Prue Lamason) spoke to a paper they had circulated to members the night prior to the meeting.

Richard Stein sought the leave of the meeting to move the following:

- (a) I move that the Hutt Valley DHB enter into discussions with the Te Awakairangi Birthing Centre to negotiate a contract to provide postnatal care to women who birth at their facility or who are transferred to their facility from the Hutt Hospital maternity ward. The rate of reimbursement would be the same as the DHB receives from its funder arm for this service.
- (b) That the birthing centre recognises Hutt Valley DHB's pro-equity policy for Māori and Pasifika mothers.

#### Procedural notes:

- The motion above was not on the agenda, but could not be delayed until the next scheduled meeting of the Board (6 October 2021) given the announced closure date of the Te Awakairangi Birthing Centre (23 September 2021).
- With the leave of the meeting the motion was accepted so that a vote could be taken and the HVDHB Board position recorded.
- Because the motion (if passed) would require the DHB to undertake negotiations with a particular provider, the vote was taken while the public was excluded.
- The motion was put to a vote (of HVDHB members only) and a division called:

e. (

- Voting for the motion: Richard Stein and Prue Lamason
- Voting against the motion: David Smol, Josh Briggs, Keri Brown, Yvette Grace, Wayne Guppy, Ria Earp, Ken Laban, John Ryall and Naomi Shaw.

	Moved	Seconded			
HVDHB	<b>Richard Stein</b>	Prue Lamason	LOST		

## [Items 1-7.4 have not been included as out of scope of the request]

### 7.5 GENERAL BUSINESS

Richard Stein thanked the Chair and members for a robust and thorough meeting process.

The meeting closed at 3:58pm.CONFIRMED that these minutes constitute a true and correct record of the proceedings of the<br/>meeting.DATED this6<sup>th</sup>day ofOctober2021

David Smol BOARD CHAIR