

Level 9, 44 The Terrace
PO Box 27048
Wellington, New Zealand 6141
P +64 4 462 5200
www.tec.govt.nz

Ref: OI-22-00431

25 August 2022

John Luke fyi-request-20151-0b59d0ef@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John Luke,

Thank you for your request, received on Friday 5 August 2022, for the following information under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act):

I noted from the report,

https://women.govt.nz/sites/public_files/2021%20Stocktake%20of%20Gender%2C%20 Māori%2C%20Pacific%20and%20Ethnic%20Diversity%20on%20Public%20Sector%20Bo ards%20and%20Committees.pdf

• Page 15, TEC has appointed 21 Māori, 6 pacific and 2 Asian members to its boards. can you please provide the name and positions regards to the above?

I am releasing this information to you in the table below but please note that all appointments in the stocktake published by Manatū Wāhine/Ministry for Women are made by Ministers and not by government agencies. The appointments listed against "Tertiary Education Commission" are not appointments made by the TEC; they are made by the Minister of Education.

In making his decision, the Minister will normally consult the council Chair or University Chancellor. In the case of universities, wānanga and Te Pūkenga, the Minister will also take account of nominations made by his colleagues and by the Government's nominating agencies. The appointment process for workforce development councils is set out in the Order in Council that establishes each one and consultation with relevant industries is essential.

The role of the TEC as the "administering agency" is to provide the Minister with the support and documents he needs to complete an appointment and take it through the Cabinet process. Cabinet does not make the appointments but, by convention, the Minister of Education informs his Ministerial colleagues by submitting a paper about his intentions to the Appointments and Honours Committee. Once Cabinet has received a Minute from the Committee, the Minister of Education signs a letter of appointment.



TERTIARY EDUCATION REPORT: NAMES AND POSITIONS OF MĀORI, PACIFICA AND ASIAN COUNCILMEMBERS

The TEC provides this support to the Minister of Education for Ministerial appointments to eight universities, three wānanga, Te Pūkenga and two of the six workforce development councils. Information about the names and ethnicity of governing council members, including Iwi affiliation, is generally available on the website of each organisation. The table below sets out the names of the appointees referred to in the Manatū Wāhine/Ministry for Women publication:

Please also note that Council members can identify with more than one ethnicity. All the ethnicities a member identifies with are included in the data, so most of the results for ethnicity by agency and ethnicity and by Ministerial portfolio will add up to over 100%.

Council	Ministerial appointee	Position held	Māori	Pacific	Asian
Auckland University of Technology Council	Sina Wendt ONZM	Council member		1	
Massey University Council	Oriana Paewai	Council member	1		
Muka Tangata - People, Food and Fibre Workforce Development Council	Erin Simpson	Chair (council elected)	1		
	Kevin Ihaka	Council member	1		
	Dan Epiha-Netana	Council member	1		
	Iani Nemai	Council member		1	
	Turi Ngatai MNZM	Council member	1		
	Warwick Tauwhare-George	Council member	1		
	Winifred (Wini) Geddes	Council member	1		
Ringa Hora - Services Workforce Development Council	Hinerangi Edwards ONZM	Chair (appointed by Minister)	1	1	
	Paul Retimanu	Council member		1	
Te Pükenga - New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology	Kim Ngarimu	Deputy Chair (appointed by Minister)	1		
	Tania Hodges	Council member	1		
	Tagaloatele Professor Peggy Fairbairn-Dunlop CNZM	Council member		1	
Te Wānanga o Aotearoa Council	Stephen Ruru	Council member	1		
	Johnathan (Jon) Stokes	Council member	1		
Te Wānanga o Raukawa Council	Anne Carter	Council member	1		
	Daphne Luke	Council member	1		
	Tiwana Tibble	Council member	1		
Te Whare Wānanga o	Rauru Kirikiri	Deputy Chair (council	1		

REPORT NUMBER: OI-22-00431

Tertiary Education Report: Names and positions of Māori, Pacifica and Asian Councilmembers

Council	Ministerial appointee	Position held	Māori	Pacific	Asian
Awanuiārangi Council		elected)			
	Tuihana Pook	Council member	1		
	Charlie Tawhiao	Council member	1		
	Natalie Coates	Council member	1		
University of Auckland Council	Dr Rajan Prasad	Council member			1
University of Otago Council	Suzanne Ellison	Council member	1		
	Malcolm Wong	Council member			1
University of Waikato Council	Meleane Burgess	Council member		1	
Victoria University of Wellington Council	Cath Nesus	Council member	1		
Total			21	6	2

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about how to make a complaint is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or freephone 0800 802 602.

Please note that, consistent with the Act, we publish our responses to information requests on our website in the interests of transparency and accountability, and to improve access to official information.

Nāku noa, nā

Tim Fowler Chief Executive

Tertiary Education Commission

REPORT NUMBER: 0I-22-00431 | 7