

18 September 2024

Our Ref: C59391

By <u>fyi-request-23497-7890e1f1@requests.fyi.org.nz</u>

Tēnā koe John

Official Information Act: Request for information regarding the members of the Complaints Assessment Committee (CAC) at the Real Estate Authority

I refer to your request made via **fyi-request-23497-7890e1f1@requests.fyi.org.nz** received by the Real Estate Authority (REA) on 26 August 2024, in which you request the following:

- A list of all CAC panel members
- The roles of each panel member
- The end date of each panel member's appointment.

Information being released

We have interpreted your request to mean what roles each member has with reference to $\underline{s76}$ of the REA Act (i.e. whether they have consumer, real estate or legal experience). We trust this response answers your query but please do let us know if not.

CAC panel members

Please find below a table of our current CAC panel members, including name, role, and the date that their 5-year term will end, as of 2 September 2024.

| Name | End date | Role |
|------------------|------------|------------|
| William Acton | 30/11/2024 | Lawyer |
| Denise Evans | 21/10/2025 | Lawyer |
| Katherine Cooper | 22/10/2028 | Lawyer |
| Echo Haronga | 22/10/2028 | Lawyer |
| Arti Chand | 22/10/2028 | Lawyer |
| Alice McCarthy | 22/10/2028 | Lawyer |
| Belinda Moss | 21/10/2025 | Lay Member |
| Fale Lesa | 31/03/2027 | Lay Member |



| Judith Varcoe | 22/10/2028 | Lay Member |
|-----------------|------------|-------------|
| Andrew Dickson | 22/10/2028 | Lay Member |
| Pengbo Jiang | 22/10/2028 | Lay Member |
| Paul Biddington | 30/11/2024 | Real Estate |
| Julian Twiss | 30/11/2024 | Real Estate |
| Susanne Guhl | 21/10/2025 | Real Estate |
| Nigel Fletcher | 31/03/2027 | Real Estate |
| Maree Gendall | 22/10/2028 | Real Estate |
| Maree Newman | 22/10/2028 | Real Estate |
| Alan Lethbridge | 13/01/2029 | Real Estate |

Next steps

If you wish to discuss this response with us, please contact us by phone on 04 8458580, or by email at info@rea.govt.nz

You have the right to make a complaint, in respect of this response, to the Ombudsman. Information about how to make a complaint is available at <u>www.ombudsman.parliament.nz.</u> You may make the complaint online at that web address, by email at <u>info@ombudsman.parliament.nz</u>, or in writing to the following address:

The Ombudsman PO Box 10 152 WELLINGTON 6143

Nāku iti noa, nā

Josh Doherty Head of Regulatory Services