

31 July 2024

## T Millar

fyi-request-27132-f96d5c96@requests.fyi.org.nz

Dear Mr. Millar

## Official Information Request Our Ref: OIA 2024-0142

I refer to your official information request received on 4 June 2024 for:

"Could I please have a summary of the current terms for all Crown Entity heads (whether they hold the role of Chief Executive or another title). If this could please include their date of appointment, length of appointment, and expiration date of their current term."

We notified you on 3 July 2024 that due to consultations needed to make a decision on your request we needed to extend the timeframe to make our decision to **31 July 2024**.

## Information being released

Under the section 117 of the Crown Entities Act, the terms and conditions of employment of a statutory entities' chief executive who is appointed by the Board, must be determined by agreement between the Board and the chief executive. However, the Public Service Commissioner must provide written consent of the terms and conditions to the Board.

Please find listed in the table below the term start and term end dates for all current Crown Entity Chief Executives, held by the Commission for the purposes set out above.

Since 2018, all Crown entity chief executives can be appointed for terms of up to five years and may be reappointed. Chief executives that were appointed before 2018 were on open-ended contracts\* therefore, their terms of appointment only end if they retire or if their employment is terminated.

Crown Entity	Chief Executive	Term Start Date	Term End Date
Accreditation Council	Brian Young	26/07/2021	24/07/2026
Artificial Limb Service*	Sean Gray	26/01/2015	
Arts Council Of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Creative NZ	Stephen Wainwright	21/08/2006	30/09/2024
New Zealand Film Commission	Anne Murray	19/06/2023	18/06/2028
Guardians NZ Super Fund	Joanne Townsend	15/04/2024	13/04/2029
Heritage NZ	Andrew Coleman*	09/11/2016	

Infrastructure Commission	Ross Copland	29/06/2020	10/07/2024
Lotteries Commission	Jason Delamore	01/01/2024	01/01/2027
Maori Broadcasting Te Mangai Paho	Larry Parr*	10/10/2016	
Māori Language Commission	Ngāhiwi Apanui*	31/08/2015	
Broadcasting Commission   NZ on Air	Cameron Harland	17/03/2020	15/03/2025
Public Trust	Glenys Talivai	18/03/2019	31/03/2027
Symphony Orchestra	Kirsten Mason	21/04/2024	(Acting)
Te Papa Board	Courtney Johnston	21/12/2019	20/12/2024
Accident Compensation	Megan Main	15/11/2021	14/11/2026
Antarctica NZ	Sarah Williamson	16/06/2019	16/06/2026
Callaghan Innovation	Stefan Korn	04/07/2022	21/09/2027
Civil Aviation Authority	Keith Manch	02/01/2021	31/01/2026
Natural Hazards Commission	Tina Mitchell	17/01/2022	16/01/2027
Education NZ	Linda Sissons	18/11/2023	29/09/2024
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority	Marcos Pelenur	11/09/2023	10/09/2028
Environmental Protection	Allan Freeth	01/09/2015	26/02/2027
Fire and Emergency	Kerry Gregory	15/04/2022	30/06/2025
Health New Zealand	Margie Apa	01/07/2022	30/06/2025
Health Quality and Safety	Dr Peter Jansen	22/05/2023	12/05 2028
Health Research Council	Sunny Collings	15/01/2020	14/01/2025
Kāinga Ora	Andrew McKenzie	01/10/2019	30/09/2024
Maritime NZ	Kirstie Hewlett	25/05/2021	24/05/2026
NZ Blood Service	Samantha Cliffe*	18/04/2015	
NZ Qualifications Authority	Grant Klinkum	14/04/2020	13/04/2025
NZ Tourism Board	René de Monchy	12/04/2021	10/04/2026
PHARMAC	Sarah Fitt	06/01/2018	04/01/2028

Real Estate Authority	Belinda Moffat	08/09/2020	31/08/2025
Social Workers Registration	Sarah Clark*	29/05/2017	
Sport NZ	Raelene Castle	15/12/2020	14/12/2025
Taumata Arowai	Allan Prangnell	23/01/2023	21/01/2028
Tertiary Education Commission	Tim Fowler*	01/04/2013	
Trade and Enterprise	Peter Chrisp*	23/08/2010	
Transport Agency	Nicole Rosie	17/02/2020	14/02/2025
Walking Access Commission   Herengaanuku	Ric Cullinane*	04/09/2018	
WorkSafe NZ	Steve Haszard	04/10/2023	31/10/2024
Accident Investigation	Martin Sawyers	08/06/2021	07/06/2026
Broadcasting Standards	Stacey Wood	01/07/2023	04/09/2027
Climate Change Commission	Jo Hendy	17/12/2019	16/12/2026
Commerce Commission	Adrienne Meikle*	01/05/2018	
Criminal Cases Review Commission	Parekawhia McLean	01/11/2020	31/10/2025
Sport Integrity Commission	Rebecca Rolls	01/07/2024	30/06/2029
Electricity Authority	Sarah Gillies	13/10/2022	07/01/2028
External Reporting Board	April Mackenzie	02/12/2019	30/11/2022
Financial Markets Authority	Samantha Barrass	17/01/2022	16/01/2027
Human Rights Commission	Meg de Ronde	03/04/2023	03/04/2026
Mental Health and Wellbeing Commission	Karen Orsborn	01/07/2021	30/06/2026
Takeovers Panel	Andrew Hudson*	27/10/2017	

If you wish to discuss this decision with us, please feel free to contact <a href="mailto:Ministerial.Services@publicservice.govt.nz">Ministerial.Services@publicservice.govt.nz</a>.

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about how to make a complaint is available at <a href="https://www.ombudsman.parliament.nz">www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</a> or freephone 0800 802 602.

Please note that we intend to publish this letter (with your personal details removed) on the Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission's website.

Yours sincerely

Nicky Dirks

Manager - Ministerial and Executive Services Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission