Office of the Registrar

Information and Records Management Tel: +64 3 366 7001 Email: records@canterbury.ac.nz Web: www.canterbury.ac.nz/irm



29 October 2024

Mitchellmatchbox

By email: fyi-request-28295-471b9523@requests.fyi.org.nz

Dear Mitchellmatchbox

Official Information Act request 24.155 Heads of the Law Faculty

I refer to the Official Information Act (the Act) request dated 1 October 2024 regarding the Heads of the Law Faculty. You have specifically requested:

• I would like to follow up. Consider this a separate request for the purposes of OIA time frame. I will reclarify.

I would like to request the names, and tenure of all natural persons who have held the position of Executive Dean of Law* (and it's former equivalents such as Dean of Law, Head of Faculty, etc) extending back to 1873.

*Executive Dean if Law includes those who were head of the University Faculty of Law (and it's former equivalents), and for the purpose of governance of the university represented the head of the faculty of law.

Please respond if you require more specificity. Please do not wait until the very end of the OIA time frame to tell me what is already publicly disclosed information—which you did in the former request

For information for those staff from 1873 to 1973, please see Appendix 1 of Emeritus Professor Jeremy Finn's book *Educating for the Profession: law at Canterbury, 1873 – 1973*. Appendix 1 is titled Teaching Staff at the Canterbury Law Department 1873 – 1973. This book is available to view (and to loan if you are a member of the library) at UC. The library catalogue is available <u>here</u>.

Please see below for the names of those in the leadership position in the Law Faculty from 1974 – 2021. Please note that some of these staff members were in an Acting capacity whilst recruitment for a permanent position was occurring. Please note that where there have been different organisational structures over time, the person named is the person who has chaired the Faculty:

1974 - Professor L.J. Ryan

1975 - 1980 - Professor R.A. Caldwell

1981 - 1986 - Professor J.F Burrows

1987 - 1988 - Professor J.H. Farrar

1989 - 2001 - Professor G.A. Orchard

2002 - Professor S Todd

2003- 2004 - Professor S Davidson

2005- Professor S Todd

2006 - 2008 Professor S Davidson

2009 - Position Vacant

2010 - Mid 2012 Professor R Scragg

Mid 2012 - 2015 - Dr C Gallavin

2016 – 31 March 2022 Professor U Cheer (U Cheer on sabbatical leave in 2019 – Acting Dean Professor Liz Toomey)

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about how to make a complaint is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or freephone 0800 802 602.

Yours sincerely

Information and Records Management